REVIEW | Maybelline SuperStay Matte Ink


I have been curious about the Maybelline SuperStay Matte Ink liquid lipsticks for quite some time. When they first came out, I admired the color range, but didn't go grab them right away. As they began to pop up in my local stores (which take FOREVER to get the new-new), I grew even more curious, but still didn't budge. However, after flipping through magazine after magazine featuring all these beautiful women rocking various shades of the lippie, I decided I would go ahead and give them a try if I catch them on sale.

REVIEW | Decluttering At The Speed of Life

I will admit that books on home organization don't always appeal to me. I am not easily urged to sort through things based on emotion, or whatever new way folks are telling us we should clear space in our homes. But after reading more about author Dana K. White and her blog, A Slob Comes Clean, I felt compelled to read this book. Her writing style and voice reads like an honest conversation I would have with friends, so I was curious to learn more about her methods.



Reading Decluttering At The Speed of Life was refreshing for me. I was reading along with someone who had a few of the same issues with clutter that I have, and she was tackling it. She had dealt with much heavier issues than myself and came out from under the clutter to help someone else. Now that is an impressive feat! This made me more inclined to listen to her advice. She doesn't shame you for your clutter either, but she does call you out on your stuff.

REVIEW | Pixi MatteLast Liquid Lip Collection

beauty blogger of color
If you follow me on Instagram, you probably already know how excited I get about updating my makeup bag each season. And since spring is finally here, I've been all about finding the perfect hues of rose, blush, coral and other softer, neutral shades to add to my beauty arsenal. Last month, I received a beautiful package from Pixi that included their entire Rose Essence Collection. And in this collection were five pretty lippies from the MatteLast Liquid Lip Collection. When I tell you I was over-the-moon hype about this package, please believe me! I could not wait to put these lippies to the test and see if they would find a home in my spring beauty arsenal. 

beauty blogger of color
The Pixi MatteLast Liquid Lip is infused with rose hip seed oil, giving lips the hydration you wouldn't normally expect from a matte lip product. And the fact that these lippies are also paraben-free/cruelty free made me even more eager to test them out. 

Dinner Made Easy With P.F. Chang's Home Menu Sauces

Nothing beats enjoying a delicious meal with the ones you love. And I'm quick to believe no one appreciates this more than a family waiting for mama to bring all the makings of this meal together at the table when dinner time hits. You know, one that's hearty, satisfying, can be prepared on the fly, and doesn't cost a lot of money to make. That's what makes for a good meal at my house. Meals prepared in my kitchen are fast, easy, and filling enough to accommodate my party of five.

I was able to accomplish all of these things and more, thanks to this VoxBox I received from Influenster a short while back. In this box, there was a bottle of P.F. Chang's Teriyaki Sauce, a recipe card, and a coupon to for another bottle. This started the wheels to turning in my mind as to what I wanted to make for dinner.

food lifestyle blogger


This Is It: The Inspiration Behind New Book by Daria Peoples-Riley


This week marked the release of Daria Peoples-Riley's debut children's book This Is It and I for one have been so excited about it!

"Daria Peoples-Riley’s debut picture book is a celebration of individuality, self-expression, and dance. Fans of Misty Copeland’s Firebird and Matt de la Peña’s Last Stop on Market Street will want to read it over and over again.

When a young dancer is nervous about her upcoming auditions, her shadow springs to life and leads her on a joyous exploration of their city. Soon enough, the young girl finds confidence in her skills, her body, and her ability to shine.

With an energetic, rhythmic text that begs to be read aloud and striking, exuberant artwork, This Is It is a love story to originality and the simple joy of movement."

Check out the book trailer here:


Read below to learn more about the book trailer and inspiration behind This Is It:

#KIDLIT | If You Look Up To The Sky by Angela Dalton

“Anything is possible.” 

How many times do we hear those words in the run of our busy, daily lives? Many of you may answer that you hear them quite often. Others may answer that they don’t hear those words quite often enough. Either way, most of us are familiar with the phrase. It’s a comforting affirmation that makes you believe in the stuff dreams are made of. If internalized, it truly helps us to believe that we can do and be anything we want to be. This can be incredibly comforting in times when so many things seem uncertain.

This is a message that I have been happy to take away from the children’s book If You Look Up To The Sky by Angela Dalton and illustrated by Margarita Sikorskaia. Written for children ages 3 and up, If You Look Up To the Sky is a grandmother’s comforting story to her grandchild in times of worry or uncertainty.


Back to Top